Thursday, June 9, 2011

What is RAID, What are the types of RAID?

Redundant Array of Inexpensive Disks (RAID)  is a type of protection available in Teradata. RAID  provides Data protection at the disk Drive level.  It ensures data is available even when the disk drive had failed.

Th\ere are around 6 levels of RAID ( RAID0 to RAID5) .  Teradata supports Two levels of RAID protection
RAID 1 - Mirrored copy of data in other disk
RAID 5 - Parity bit (XOR) based Data protection on each disk array.

One of the major overhead's of RAID is Space consumption


  1. Give Detail Info about RAID and discuss all the its type

  2. I really appreciate information shared above. It’s of great help. If someone want to learn Online (Virtual) instructor lead live training in Julia
    , kindly contact us
    MaxMunus Offer World Class Virtual Instructor led training on Julia . We have industry expert trainer. We provide Training Material and Software Support. MaxMunus has successfully conducted 100000+ trainings in India, USA, UK, Australlia, Switzerland, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Bangladesh, Bahrain and UAE etc.
    For Demo Contact us:
    Name : Arunkumar U
    Email :
    Skype id: training_maxmunus
    Contact No.-+91-9738507310
    Company Website –